Hooking and the Dingle Ball

It’s been awhile since my last post. I’ll probably move to once a week since I’m getting to a stage where I’m constantly practicing the same move over and over.  To you, that may sound boring.  To me, it sounds like a burning love for boxing 🙂

 

For the record, I’m still loving this sport.  I kinda relate it to meeting Steve. 

 

I think about it all the time.

When I’m not practicing it, I’m thinking about it at home, at work.

I’m constantly thinking about ways to get to know it better.

I should probably stop there with the analogies before it gets weird 😉

 

OK first.. a fun selfie with my boxing bud Kiersten.

2016-09-26_20-36-02

Please note our sweaty faces and of course my bad ass jaguar wraps.  Yet another shout out to my awesome boxer friend Ali for the wraps as a “congrats on moving to yellow” present.  Definitely bringing out my inner animal!  They’ve also now warranted an interim boxer nickname… The Distraxion.  Shannon “The Distraxion” Liddicoat.  Why the X you ask?  Because I’m badass.  That’s why.

 

Now onto serious business.  Hooking.  No mom, I haven’t turned to the streets.  I’m talking about throwing an amazing hook 🙂

The hook has been a painful learning process.  Mainly because I started yellow classes 3/4 the way through the lesson plan so I felt a bit behind but the coaches have been outstanding in pulling me aside to teach me the basics so I can catch up quickly.  The hook is easiest split into 3 steps:

  1. Start with a jab/cross or just a cross and make sure your body is fully rotated through in order to:
  2. Fully rotate with force back to the right, pivoting the hips while:
  3. Hooking the left arm parallel to the ground, elbow, up, coming to the jaw line or just above the glove line.

Now that is way more to remember than a basic jab.  I’m thinking about shifting my weight perfectly so that I still have enough balance to finish with another cross.  I’m thinking about making sure my fist is facing downward, not with my palm facing me on the hook.  I’m pretty much thinking about every technical aspect of this punch.  Toughest part is getting out of my head.

I loaded a new video to YouTube, thanks to Kiersten for letting me rip her shoulder out 🙂

Good progress so far:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qp4B_1qf2T0

 

Next up, the Dingle Ball.  Hehe ok ok, the speed bag.  I remember staring at that thing when I first started and thinking “You are the cliche I want to master the most”.  The great part about Griffin’s is that if you’re trying something, so many people walk over and offer their assistance.  I think part of being part of the boxing family is about leaving all pride and attitude at the door and being able to accept help when you can get it.

Let’s be clear here, this has never been a strength of mine. 

I’ve had kids walk over to help me, adults, coaches, you name it.  And after seven weeks, I’ve finally picked up the pace to a quick spiral motion.  It’s like music to my ears.  Next step will be rotating right/left but that’ll likely take a bit more time.  Please note I have to stand on a platform in order to reach 🙂

Here’s the link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFhiHdwckBk

 

What’s on the list for the next week? 

A very well deserved rest day tomorrow.  Let’s just say I can barely feel my left arm from learning the hook this week, not to mention having Coach Dave leaning his body on my arms during calisthenics (mini 1-minute arm movements).  Haha I don’t think I’ve sweat that hard in weeks.

I’m still on pace for 4 classes a week which will keep me on track to test the last week of November.  I really need to keep my focus on track, and more importantly my nutrition top notch.  The strength requirements to pass the next test are significantly harder, I’ll need my A game for sure.

 

Next time… a focus on nutrition and body care.  I’m finally understanding why Steve keeps harping on me for rest days 🙂

 

Author: Rookie to Rocky

Follow me on my journey from zero boxing training to fighting in an amateur match.

One thought on “Hooking and the Dingle Ball”

  1. wow, very impressive with the speed bag, always wondered how they do that and your “hooking”, you are doing so well and I’m very proud. Mom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

