Day 1 – What does it really take?

Day 1 always feels the most daunting, doesn’t it?

I don’t want to say I’m changing my entire life around this goal, but a good part of my last week has been planning my training schedule and making some tweaks to my eating regime.  Sadly, both are in Excel.

So what does it really take to get from rookie to rocky? 

  1. Training
  2. Testing
  3. More training
  4. Eating “responsibly”  (I’ll get to that)

Training.  Today’s the day I join Griffins Boxing Gym.  Say hello to my new gym:

So far my boxing training schedule is a minimum of 3 boxing technique classes a week, I will likely go up to 4 in the fall. The classes consist of a warm up, partner training, and then a fun 7 minute core workout if you couldn’t feel your abs already.  We don’t go into the ring until you get to a certain level so the partner training is with boxing gloves and mitts, no contact unless I get excited and accidentally hit my partner 🙂

Testing. The training system is color coded (think karate) and each color requires a certain amount of completed classes before you can do the test to get to the next level.

White (entry level) – 24 classes

Yellow – 36 classes

Green – 48 classes

Blue (now I can spar) – 60 classes

Red (final level)

When do I actually achieve my goal?

When I get to red and complete 12 sparring classes, I can then try out for the amateur team which only has tryouts twice a year:  September and January.  Assuming I have very minimal injuries and excel at my testing, this path would take me exactly 60 weeks from today to get to amateur tryouts which is the second week of September next year.

Doesn’t sound so easy anymore, does it?

More training.  In order to get the footwork and stamina needed to box, I have to build in more training to make me stronger.  That will be a combination of weights, interval training, mastering jump rope and yoga.  Don’t forget a rest day!

Eating Responsibly.  I wouldn’t say I eat terrible now… I like salt and vinegar chips as much as the next person but I’m definitely going to have to work on my nutrition so that my body can keep up with the training schedule.  I’ll post this another day for sure.  For the first 6 months it’ll be a clean eating strategy, the second 6 months will be a rigorous eating schedule to lean out to hit a certain weight class for the fight.

 

The things I listed are just the physical things that are needed to get me there, I didn’t even graze the support needed by friends, family and Steve.

 

Time’s up tonight – I’m dressed for my first class.  Wish me luck.

 

 

Author: Rookie to Rocky

Follow me on my journey from zero boxing training to fighting in an amateur match.

Leave a Reply

